The Virunga volcanoes
The Virunga volcanoes
The Virunga mountains are a chain of volcanoes, along the northern border of Rwanda, the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) and Uganda. The mountain range is a branch of the Albertine Rift, a part of The Great Rift Valley. They are located between Lake Eduard and Lake Kivu.

The mountain range consists of eight major volcanoes. Six of them are dormant, and two are active: Mt Nyiragongo and Mt Nyamuragira both in the Congo. Mt Karisimbi is the highest volcano and the oldest mountain is Mt Sabinyo.

Mt Karisimbi (4.705 m), Rwanda
Mt Mikeno (4.380 m), DRC
Mt Muhavura (4.127 m), Rwanda
Mt Bisoke (3.711 m), Rwanda
Mt Gahinga(3.474 m), Rwanda
Mt Nyiragongo (3.462 m), DRC
Mt Sabyinyo (3.634 m), Rwanda
Mt Nyamulagira (3.063 m), DRC

The Virunga Mountains are home of the critically endangered Mountain Gorilla ( gorilla gorilla beringei) . The Karisoke Research Center, founded by Dian Fossey to observe gorillas in their native habitat, is located between Mount Karisimbi and Mount Bisoke.

The Virunga Conservation Area consist of 3 national parks: Virunga National Park, DRC, Volcanoes National Park, Rwanda and Mgahinga Gorilla National Park, Uganda

Magic Safaris™ is a Trade Mark of Concord International Travel Bureau Ltd. - Development and Copyright © Spiritus bvba